Self Contained Luxury Apartments & Self Contained Studio Suites
Welcome to Seaport Village Holiday Accommodation; and to New Zealand’s historical and romantic village. Located in the heart of down-town Russell we are only 100 meters from the waterfront and 200 meters from Russell's Museum. The property is set 500 meters from Flagstaff Hill and an 11- minutes walk from the famous Long Beach. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, exploring outdoor or water activities in Russell and the Bay of Islands, you can do it all hassle free.
Double Studio - Disability Access - C
Tamaño de la habitación 1 m²
This twin/double room features a spacious open plan room with garden view, kitchenette, walk-in shower and outdoor furniture. This room has 1 double bed and a single bed or 3 single beds. Please inform the property in advance if you require the 3 single beds option.
One of our top picks in Russell. This property is 6 minutes walk from the beach. Offering a barbecue and views of the sea, Seaport Village Holiday Accommodation is situated in Russell in the Northland Region, a few steps from Christ church. Free private parking is available on site.
All rooms are fitted with a flat-screen TV with cable channels. Certain units feature a seating area for your convenience. A balcony or patio are featured in certain rooms. Rooms are fitted with a private bathroom. For your comfort, you will find free toiletries and a hairdryer. Seaport Village Holiday Accommodation features free WiFi .
You will find dry cleaning services at the property.
Guests can enjoy various activities in the surroundings, including horse riding and snorkelling. Russell Museum is 650 feet from Seaport Village Holiday Accommodation, while Flagstaff Hill is 1,650 feet away.
Pompellier Mission House
The property is just five minutes' walk from the wharf at Russell, formerly known as Kororareka and infamous as the ‘hell-hole of the Pacific’ for its drunken and raucous behaviour. It was against this colourful backdrop that a group of French Marist Brothers – including Jean Baptiste Pompallier, after whom the property is named – arrived to set up a Catholic Mission in the settlement.
Built in 1842, Pompallier Mission originally housed a printery where Church texts were translated from Latin to te reo Māori, then printed and bound. It is just one of several buildings, including a chapel and various outhouses, which once stood in this crowded enclave. Today the Printery stands as New Zealand’s oldest industrial building, as well as the oldest of rammed-earth construction, distinctly French in style and making use of local materials including sand, rock and timber.
Pompallier Mission offers one of New Zealand’s most enjoyable heritage tours, starting at the gatehouse beyond which lie the glorious gardens that surround the Printery. A guided walk through the building reveals its unique architectural features and provides a fascinating step-by-step insight into nineteenth-century printing and bookbinding.
The Mission’s original printing press, fully restored to working order, provides just one of many opportunities to experience hands-on the curious printery and tannery equipment. Such old-fashioned fun is a great distraction for younger visitors while the adults absorb the nationally significant pioneer history recounted in museum displays.
Christ Church, Russell
Our church is the oldest existing church in NZ today, and possibly the oldest building still used for its original purpose.
Its beginnings go back to the earliest years of Maori European contact in the Bay of Islands when missionaries from across the harbour at the Paihia mission station rowed across to take services in private homes.
Russell, then known by its original Maori name of ‘Kororareka’ was a rough seaport, popular with Pacific whalers, with the nickname ‘The Hellhole of the Pacific’.
The missionaries purchased land in 1834 from Kororareka chiefs Rewa, Wharerahi and Moka and agreed that Maori and Pakeha (Europeans) should have equal rights of burial.
The fundraising subscription list for the church survives with names of missionaries, settlers, traders and ships’ captains including ‘Captain Fitzroy, Mr. Charles Darwin and officers of HMS Beagle’. The building began in 1835 and a simple rectangular chapel with hipped roof was constructed.
According to official records, the first service was on 3 January 1836 when William Williams from Paihia mentions taking one in the ‘new chapel’. Services were conducted in both English and Maori languages.
Dr Broughton consecrated the burialground around the church in 1839.
On 30 January 1840 Captain William Hobson used the church to make three proclamations.
The first was to announce the extension of the boundaries of New South Wales to include the islands of New Zealand. The second was in relation to his own appointment as Lieutenant Governor of NZ, with the third relating to land transactions (and notably the issue of pre-emption). A document recording what had occurred was drafted and signed by 41 witnesses, including a number of settlers, missionaries, and the chief Moka Te Kainga-Mataa (being the sole Maori signatory). Following this event all other occurrences in relation to the Treaty of Waitangi, including the meeting and its signing, occurred across the bay at Waitangi on 5 and 6 February. The church was also used occasionally as a courthouse.
Reverend Robert Burrows was the first resident clergyman living in a vicarage on the hillside above the church. On 11 March 1845, during the Battle of Kororareka between British forces and Maori dissatisfied with British rule, the church was hit by stray musket and cannon balls, evidence still visible today.
In 1871 the church was altered to its present shape with V roof, buttresses, a gallery, porch and belfry, and two years later received its name.
By the early 20th Century the church was in a shaky condition so props were set up each side to support it for a time. It was served by vicars based at Kawakawa and from 1953 onwards, Kerikeri.
The church celebrated its centennial in 1936 with an outdoor service, and in 1963 welcomed Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip.
In 1986 the church marked its 150th birthday in the presence of the then Governor General, Sir Paul Reeves and Prime Minister David Lange.
In 2000 Christ Church was extensively restored and today continues to draw a constant stream of visitors who enjoy its sense of history, its tranquility and its wairua (spiritual atmosphere).
Among the graves in the churchyard are those of Tamati Waka Nene (a Ngapuhi chief largely responsible for the Maori’s acceptance of the Treaty of Waitangi and who fought for the settlers against Hone Heke), Hannah King Letheridge (now known to be the second European girl to be born in NZ), Dr Samuel Ford (the country’s first resident surgeon), members of the Clendon family (James R Clendon was the first honorary United States Consul), the men from HMS Hazard who fell in the battle, and a number of whalers whose headstones often tell of untimely deaths.
People from all countries find a walk around the churchyard fascinating, as they see links with their past. The congregation recognises they have a significant ministry to tourists, and welcome people from all over the world to services.
Russell is also known as Kororareka which translate to sweet blue penguin was once the main trading hub in the early 1800s, today the town still has some of its original buildings.
Hole in the rock
Motu Kōkako, also known as Piercy Island or "The Hole In The Rock", is located off the north coast of the North Island of New Zealand. It is at the very northern tip of Rakaumangamanga in the Bay of Islands.